[TC] Gaming Forums

Full Version: My car makes a new sound. Can you help me?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello everyone!

Since a couple of days my engine started ''rattling'' its a sound in the background of the engine, and its getting worse pretty fast so I am starting to get worried.

I am not a mechanic so maybe you guys recognise the sound and can tell me what it is.

The sound it makes
The sound I mean is the ring-ring-ring-ring sound Tongue
It does sound naturally in some way but it never did it before the ringing/rattling goes together with my RPM.

I hope you guys can tell me whats wrong Ohmy
Can't you locate it when you open the bonnet?
Does it happen with cold start? Or always?
(2017-03-01 17:05)Borja Wrote: [ -> ]Does it happen with cold start? Or always?

Always

(2017-03-01 17:05)Chuck Wrote: [ -> ]Can't you locate it when you open the bonnet?

It's hard to tell it seems to come around the place where the timing belt is but not entirely sure.
Could be a bearing on one of the timing/accessory belt pulleys.
(2017-03-01 17:09)Audiojack Wrote: [ -> ]Could be a bearing on one of the timing/accessory belt pulleys.

Someone else also thought that. But is it normal that it gets worse this fast then? I really notice it getting worse by the day.

And if it is one of these then I better replace it fast before something snaps right?
If the timing belt snaps, it's game over. If it's your auxiliary belt (alternator belt), then what will happen is your alternator will not be charging the battery which in turn will mean your car won't start Tongue

In another suggestion, is your air conditioning on?
(2017-03-01 17:10)Don Wrote: [ -> ]
(2017-03-01 17:09)Audiojack Wrote: [ -> ]Could be a bearing on one of the timing/accessory belt pulleys.

Someone else also thought that. But is it normal that it gets worse this fast then? I really notice it getting worse by the day.