[TC] Gaming Forums

Full Version: AMD Bulldozer - Is it worth it? [I very much guess so..]
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I've been considering an AMD Bulldozer FX-series processor for a few months now, and I ask, is it worth buying, compared to a Phenom II X6 or even an Intel? for now, I'm on a tight budget for buying PC parts, and I'm wanting something that can play Battlefield 3 and do multithreaded tasks, such as rendering video and 3d models. My main concern is that it may get disappointing figures. Should I try and save up for an Intel i5, or what people would recommend?

There was post on LFSForum of someone getting good FPS out of an AMD Phenom II X6 1090T and keeping cool on Crysis and Battlefield 3 maxed out, with a maximum of 35 degrees Celsius (with a Corsair H100), this may be because of the Hexa-core design though, yet it rarely reaches 90% usage when overclocked to 3.6 GHz while playing those games.
http://www.lfsforum.net/showthread.php?p...ost1711452
i5 is one of the best gamming CPU you can actually get. Dont get a bullodzer Wink

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/434?vs=288
My Phenom II X4 955 (3.2GHz) has no trouble with BF3 and Crysis. Bulldozer is certainly an improvement over the Phenom II, but I haven't properly compared the two. Specifically, the FX-8150 has roughly twice the performance of my 955.

The i5 wins for a lot of games, but it does very much depend on the game.
As rttn's link shows, the Bulldozer wins hands down for most of the multithreaded multimedia stuff and a few of the gaming type benchmarks.

Based on current UK prices and overall performance, the FX-8150 is roughly 25% better bang/buck over the i5-2500K and is a bit cheaper overall as well.

If you do a lot of the multimedia stuff, I would recommend the FX-8150 as it is generally better at it.
AMD suck get a intel cpu e.g. i5 or i7!
That's not very helpful Tom. Wink