[TC] Gaming Forums

Full Version: SSD
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Alrighty,

I've picked out 2 SSD's I assume will work with my laptop (HP DV6-6C20TX).

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduc...ubcat=1427

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduc...=HD-011-CR

Pricewise, there's no difference really, so which 1 is better? From my understanding, I'm thinking the OCZ Agility 4 is the 1 to go for, but yea I have no experience in SSD's Smile

It's going to be used for the OS and games. Now, another question i have is, what is the best way of going about swapping the 2. I have no Boot CD's, only a product key.

Thanks in advance.
On paper, the Agility 4 is faster.

But the people on this site, definantly prefers the Crucial M4, due to early SF controller problems, which the Agility 3 disk had in the beginning of it's life.
http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2256587

I personally owned the predecessor to the Agility 4 (the Agility 3 Tongue), and I had no problems with it what so ever.
As far as I know, the crucials are the one to go for, they are apparently the most reliable SSD brand out there and they are quick to address bugs and they also provide firmware updates that can improve the performance of the drive (as also stated on the product page of your link). They have also had experience with making RAM, which is pretty much what's in an SSD.
Will get it ordered next week then, how would i go about getting w7 on it with no discs?
You can install Windows 7 from a USB stick, if that's what you mean.
Do I have to buy w7 again?
Not if you aren't changing your motherboard. But you have to reinstall Windows 7 on your new SSD.